IELTS Listening: Short Answers: Store Robots

This is a story about robots replacing store assistants in Japan. The original is over at VOA and can be found here.

Listen to the recording and answer the following questions using no more than TWO words or a number.

  1. In what kind of shops might we find these robots?
  2. What motions are the robots trying to mimic?
  3. Which animal do the robots resemble?
  4. Japan has less people employed because the society is doing what?
  5. How many potential employees are currently unemployed?

Answers, transcript and clues below the image

  1. retail
  2. human-like
  3. kangaroo
  4. rapidly-aging
  5. 1.6 million / 1,600,000

Japanese Stores Test Robot Workers

In August, a robot will begin placing food and drinks on store shelves in Japan. This is a test that the robot’s maker hopes will help create a wave of automation in retail stores. Automation is the process of using robots or computers, instead of people, for some jobs.

The manufacturer of the robot worker is a Tokyo-based company called Telexistence.

Following the test, store operator FamilyMart says it plans to use such robots at 20 stores in and around Tokyo by 2022.

One of FamilyMart’s competitors is the retail chain Lawson. That company will be testing its first robot in September, according to Telexistence.

At first, people will operate the robots from a distance. These operations will continue until the machines’ artificial intelligence (AI) can learn to copy human-like movements.

Jin Tomioka is the robot maker’s chief executive. He noted how the technology lets people sense and experience places other than where they are.

“It advances the scope and scale of human existence,” he said.

The idea, called telexistence, was first proposed around 40 years ago by the company’s co-founder, University of Tokyo professor Susumu Tachi.

Telexistence calls its robot the Model T, after the famous Ford Motor car. The Ford Model T began the era of mass car use around 100 years ago.

The robot looks somewhat like an Australian animal — a kangaroo. The unusual design is meant to help people feel at ease. Many people feel uneasy around robots that look too human.

Escaping factories

Robots are still a rare sight in public. They also struggle with simple jobs in unexpected settings.

Solving that problem could help businesses in some countries, especially those in rapidly aging Japan, deal with fewer workers. Businesses hit by the coronavirus may also need to operate with fewer people.

Since the coronavirus crisis began , hotels, restaurants and even oil companies have contacted Telexistence, Tomioka said.

Niki Harada is an official at Japan’s Restaurant Workers Union. “It’s difficult to tell now what impact robots might have in restaurants – it could mean fewer people, but it could also create new jobs,” Harada said.

Although FamilyMart will still need people to control its robots, operators can be anywhere. The operators can also be people who would not normally work in stores, said Tomohiro Kano, a general manager.

“There are about 1.6 million people in Japan, who for various reasons are not active in the workforce,” he said.

Takeo Kanade is an AI and robotics scientist at Carnegie Mellon University in the United States. Kanade joined Telexistence in February as an adviser.

Future telexistence robots could be used in hospitals so doctors could perform operations from a distance, he said.

However, he added, it might take another 20 years before robots can work in people’s homes.

“In order for robots to be really usable at home,” he said, “we really have to be able to communicate.”

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Listening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment