IELTS Listening: Short Answers: Fallen Statues

A short answer will be a specific piece of information that you hear in the recording. It could be:

  • a characteristic of someone or something
  • an object mentioned
  • a number of something
  • a kind of something
  • a synonym for a word in the question

This is a story about monuments from the past. The original is over at npr and can be found here.

Listen to the recording and answer the following questions using no more than TWO words.

  1. Some characters from the past, whose statues remain, are described as being what?
  2. Which word describes the Russian government of the last century just before it disappeared?
  3. The capital city’s garden, with its activities and facilities, is a what for local residents?
  4. What have the monuments dropped due to their changed environment?
  5. Artyom Golbin, with regard to the previous government, considers the statues to be what kind of crucial objects?
  6. The Moscow statue of the founder of the secret police has been put back onto its what?

Answers, transcript and clues below the image

  1. controversial
  2. decrepit
  3. haven
  4. symbolic power
  5. artefacts
  6. pedestal

What To Do With Toppled Statues? Russia Has A Fallen Monument Park

RACHEL MARTIN, HOST: America is in the middle of a national debate over what to do with statues of controversial figures in our history. NPR’s Lucian Kim says something similar happened in Russia. He’s got the story of a park in Moscow where Soviet-era statues go to die.

LUCIAN KIM, BYLINE: Felix Dzerzhinsky was the founder of the Soviet Union’s feared secret police. And for decades, his statue stood in front of KGB headquarters in downtown Moscow.

KIM: In August 1991, as the decrepit communist regime crumbled, pro-democracy protesters tore down the statue. The despised communist hero, wearing a goatee and a greatcoat, was dumped on a vacant lot near the Moscow River. Other toppled Soviet statues followed. And the next year, Moscow turned the chaotic collection into a sculpture park. Park guide and historian Artyom Golbin was born that same year.

ARTYOM GOLBIN: (Speaking Russian).

KIM: He says the sculpture park now displays more than 700 sculptures from the 1930s to the present day. It’s been incorporated into Moscow’s Gorky Park, a riverside haven with cafes, yoga classes and shady lawns.

MASHA LIPMAN: It is one thing what statues mean when they are in conspicuous sites – in main squares and big streets. It’s quite another thing when statues like that are collected among many others in a park.

KIM: Masha Lipman is a political scientist who has studied Russia’s changing relationship to its monuments. She says in the sculpture park, the context of the Soviet statues has changed entirely. And in that sense, they’ve lost their symbolic power.

LIPMAN: Also, it’s a nice park. You can just go for a walk there or sit down and picnic.

KIM: Rollerbladers now skate past the Avenue of Leaders, which includes sculptures of Soviet rulers like Vladimir Lenin, Leonid Brezhnev and Josef Stalin. Stalin, with his hand in his coat, is made of pink granite and is missing his nose.

GOLBIN: (Speaking Russian).

KIM: My guide points at the sculpture right behind Stalin. It’s a contemporary work – stone heads in a cage symbolizing the Soviet dictator’s millions of victims.

GOLBIN: (Speaking Russian).

KIM: Artyom Golbin says he considers Soviet sculptures a part of Russian history, some of it good; some of it bad; but in any case, important artefacts of the Communist period.

NATASHA ZAMKOVAYA: (Speaking Russian).

KIM: Visitor Natasha Zamkovaya agrees.

ZAMKOVAYA: (Speaking Russian).

KIM: “The same applies to controversial statues in the United States,” she says, “because they remain part of American history.”

Masha Lipman says statues themselves cannot stop social change, just as their removal does not guarantee it.

LIPMAN: Fighting with symbols of the past does not necessarily help solve the problems of the present.

KIM: Felix Dzerzhinsky may no longer stand in the central Moscow square, she says, but that hasn’t stopped the security services from remaining an all-powerful force in today’s Russia. In fact, the once-toppled statue of Dzerzhinsky in the sculpture park has since been restored and put back on his pedestal. The statue is now under government protection as a cultural monument. Lucian Kim, NPR News, Moscow.

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Listening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to IELTS Listening: Short Answers: Fallen Statues

  1. Emmanuel espinola says:

    sir I will study IELTS how to join this need for this because I will apply other country I’m here now in Taiwan, my work is factory worker

  2. Emmanuel espinola says:

    sir I will study IELTS how to join this because I need to study because I will apply in other country

  3. Emmanuel espinola says:

    how to study sir for IELTS in your location here in Taiwan

  4. Paul Davey says:

    Hi
    Thanks for the question. Because I get so many requests, I have streamlined the ways I respond into three ways — in order to better help students:
    1) Free lessons, including all the advice you’ll ever need at my website: https://ieltsintaiwan.wordpress.com
    2) Free advice via the Facebook group (IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World). All you need to do is ask a question and I’ll do my best to offer advice. https://www.facebook.com/groups/767699863305697
    3) Paid tutoring services. All the tuition fees are explained clearly here: https://ieltsintaiwan.wordpress.com/services/

Leave a comment