IELTS Writing Task-2: Cambridge 14: Self Employed

Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

First let’s look at an effort by one of my students:

It’s a pretty good effort, but of course we can improve it.

There are two tasks that you need to deal with.

  • Why are people choosing to work for themselves and not work for a company
  • The disadvantages of working for yourself

The introduction:

Working for yourself seems to be a trend these days, and the reasons why potential employees are eschewing companies could be many. That being said, disadvantages might mar the experience and in the following paragraphs, after outlining why this phenomenon is occurring, I’ll describe a few of them.

A good essay has three elements:

  • Argument
  • Ideas
  • Evidence

Follow a pattern and think about coherence and cohesion.

B1: The reasons why people are choosing to be self-employed.
B2: The disadvantages.

Each body paragraph (B1 and B2) now follows the pattern: Remember, we need argumentideas and evidence:

Body Paragraph 1 (B1)

Topic Sentence: A broad view of why people are choosing to be self employed.
Idea 1: Give the first reason.
Explain: Explain it.
Example:  “… from your own knowledge and experience.”

Idea 2: Give the second reason (if necessary).
Explain: Explain it.
Example:  “… from your own knowledge and experience.”

B1: Several reasons might explain the current drift towards self employment in the labour market these days, first among these is the flexibility it offers. This is attractive because it allows an alternative to the rigid nine-to-five, five days a week schedule that most companies enforce. Under such a flexible regimen, you can prioritize activities and strike a healthy work-life balance. My uncle recently started his own marketing business, which allows him more freedom to help out at home with his newborn baby.

Body Paragraph 2 (B2)

Topic Sentence: A broad statement about the disadvantaged.
Idea 1: Give the first disadvantage.
Explain: Explain it.
Example:  “… from your own knowledge and experience.”

Idea 2: Give the second disadvantage (if necessary).
Explain: Explain it.
Example:  “… from your own knowledge and experience.”

B2: As for the disadvantages, these vary from the current economic climate to the type of personality you have. Firstly, a downturn in the economy might mean a reduced revenue stream for a while, or even no income at all. This could impact more than just the business and have dire consequences for your family and other dependents. Recently, during the CV-19 pandemic, many self-employed workers and their startups went under, including a neighbour of mine who had just started his own window-cleaning business. Secondly, before jumping in at the deep end, you should remember that not all personality types can handle the need for diligence, self-motivation and conscientiousness; and without any of these your dreams of being free and independent will be in peril.

Here’s the complete essay:

Working for yourself seems to be a trend these days, and the reasons why potential employees are eschewing companies could be many. That being said, disadvantages might mar the experience and in the following paragraphs, after outlining why this phenomenon is occurring, I’ll describe a few of them.

Several reasons might explain the current drift towards self employment in the labour market these days, first among these is the flexibility it offers. This is attractive because it allows an alternative to the rigid nine-to-five, five days a week schedule that most companies enforce. Under such a flexible regimen, you can prioritize activities and strike a healthy work-life balance. My uncle recently started his own marketing business, which allows him more freedom to help out at home with his newborn baby.

As for the disadvantages, these vary from the current economic climate to the type of personality you have. Firstly, a downturn in the economy might mean a reduced revenue stream for a while, or even no income at all. This could impact more than just the business and have dire consequences for your family and other dependents. Recently, during the CV-19 pandemic, many self-employed workers and their startups went under, including a neighbour of mine who had just started his own window-cleaning business. Secondly, before jumping in at the deep end, you should remember that not all personality types can handle the need for diligence, self-motivation and conscientiousness; and without any of these your dreams of being free and independent will be in peril.

As we can see, jumping on the bandwagon of self employment might be the ultimate life-hack for you and your family, but you must be wary of the pitfalls, which could bring down your dreams in an instant.

293 Words. Grade 9

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Writing Task 2. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to IELTS Writing Task-2: Cambridge 14: Self Employed

  1. Hi,
    I like your article about IELTS and your especially the advantages and disadvantages of self employee. but I like self employee because I can bear the control of other.
    This is very impressive.
    Its really work.
    Keep it up!
    Best regards.
    Ask scholars

Leave a comment