IELTS Listening: Matching: Audio + Questions: Invasive Species

Listen to this short audio clip about invasive species in the Great Lakes region of N. America. You’ll hear several different animals being described. The questions are going to ask you to match the animals to the given descriptions. Listen carefully, and remember that the questions might use synonyms and rephrasing for what you actually hear in the clip.

If the audio player doesn’t work for you, please try the clip on Audioboom.

Alewives

Alewives migrating

The Great Lakes are home to a number of invasive species. Which feature is related to the different animals?

Features

  • A: arrive in water
  • B: come attached to the bottom of boats
  • C: harm ecosystems
  • D: were brought to America to help fish farmers
  • E: are physically prevented from entering the Great Lakes
  • F: control the numbers of alewives
  • G: are declining in number
  • H: are growing in number

Choose eight features from the above list and write the correct letter A-H next to questions 1-8.

  1. pacific salmon
  2. indigenous fish
  3. zebra muscles
  4. Asian carp
  5. alewives
  6. sea lampreys
  7. a lot of invasive species.
  8. non-native fish from the Mississippi River

Answers are below the image of a sea lamprey

Sea Lamprey

  1. F
  2. H
  3. B
  4. D
  5. G
  6. C
  7. A
  8. E

The Great Lakes Today: Invasive Species

Scientists estimate that there are more than 170 invasive species in the Great Lakes today. These are non-native plants and animals that invade a new ecosystem. The sea lamprey that I described earlier is one such invader.

Most Invaders arrive by sea. Most invasive species travel to the Great Lakes by water; some come in from the ballast water of ships. Ballast water is water pumped into the bottom of the ship to keep it stable. When the ship arrives at port it releases the water; it also releases any creatures in the water.

Other invaders such as the zebra mussel hitch rides on the bottom of ships. Once zebra mussels reach a place, they multiply madly; up to seventy thousand mussels can thrive in a single square metre of water.

Invasive species upset the ecosystem. Invaders like the zebra mussels, sea lamprey and alewife have all damaged the Great Lakes ecosystem. Zebra mussels, for example, steal food from native species; they clog water pipes; they attach to docks and make swimming dangerous because of their sharp shells.

The Asian carp is another great threat to the Great Lakes. Catfish farmers in the south of America brought this fish from Asia to clean their ponds. Some carp have escaped into rivers and have migrated to Lake Michigan. Many people fear the Great Lakes will someday become giant carp ponds.

Canada and the United States are working to prevent non-natives from entering the Lakes. Shippers are being asked to treat their ballast water more carefully. A barrier has been built to keep fish in the Mississippi River from entering the The Great Lakes. Several states have banned the sale of live Asian carp for fear that would destroy the Great Lakes food chain.

Another approach has been to stock the lakes with species that will eat the invaders. Pacific salmon have been introduced to the Great Lakes to control alewives. Alewife numbers have dropped greatly as a result and native fish have begun to recover.

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Listening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to IELTS Listening: Matching: Audio + Questions: Invasive Species

  1. Musti says:

    Not so easy. But the audio is clear and I can get half of them. Good practice. Thanks

  2. asma.alayeb@yahoo.com says:

    The answers are not correct ! I think the answers are :
    1.F
    2.H
    3.B
    4.D
    5.G
    6.C
    7.A
    8.E

    • Paul Davey says:

      Thanks for that. You are 100% correct. I recently added a couple of extra questions into the list and I seem to have messed up the order. It’s fixed now and I’ve transcribed the recording to make it easier to see the answers.

Leave a comment