IELTS Vocabulary: The News, Newspapers and Magazines

IELTS Examiners often ask you questions about the news, newspapers and magazines. No problem, because after you have learned the words and phrases below, you’ll be ready. #IELTS Vocabulary

newspapeRead

 

Your Habits
track the news; peruse my favourite column; subscribe to a publication; catch a news bulletin; follow a story

Types of News, Newspapers and Magazines
a broadsheet; a tabloid; the dailies; a weekly publication; a news source; online news; a press conference; a media outlet; a wide circulation; a small readership

Parts of a Newspaper
an editorial; a subjective opinion piece; a column; letters to the editor; the classifieds

Types of News
local news; international news; world events; current affairs; business news; gossip; sensational news; the scandal received wide coverage in the press; libel; breaking news; make the headlines; objective reporting; cover a story; news coverage; analysis; the story went viral

The People Involved

Side profile of a journalist typing on a typewriter

I think I’m a pretty good news hound

paparazzi; unscrupulous reporters; a news anchor; a newscaster; a broadcaster; a columnist; a reporter; a journalist; a photojournalist

phrases and idioms
a rag; the gutter press; yellow journalism
information overload
invasion of privacy
government censorship
a slow news day

tips

 

Practice the above vocabulary by answering as many questions as you can

 

IELTS Speaking Part 1 Questions:

  • Do you often read the news?
  • Which magazines and newspapers do you read [Why?]
  • What kinds of articles are you most interested in? [Why?]
  • Have you ever read a newspaper or magazine in a foreign language? [When / Why?]

IELTS Speaking Part 2 Speech

Describe a newspaper or a magazine that you like to read. You should say:
– What the publication is
– What kind of information it contains
– How often you read it
And explain why you read it

IELTS Speaking Part 3 Follow-up Questions

  • Do you think newspapers and magazines might one day disappear?
  • Why is it important to read the news?
  • Should the government control what is in our newspapers?
  • What kind of person can become a good journalist?

Don’t forget my tutoringessay correcting and other services.

TwitterIcon Follow me on Twitter

FacebookThumb Join the Facebook group

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Vocabulary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment