Study Right

Some general tips on studying English

1. Don’t waste any time studying until you know exactly how to study. This is the most important lesson.

study right
2. Constantly update the wrong sentence patterns that are in your mind.

update

Whenever you hear a spoken sentence or see a written sentence, compare it with the sentence you would use to express the same thing: the sentence that you store in your mind. If the two ways are different, your way is probably wrong. Check it. If it is wrong, try to forget the old way and replace it with the new way. Your old way will probably be Chinese English. Don’t use it again. Of course there are many ways to express the same thing so be careful.

3. Memorize chunks of language. From phrases to sentences to dialogs. This may seem like a stupid thing to do, but trust me it is very helpful — at all levels of learning, beginner to advanced. Just memorize things without thinking about the grammar/syntax/meaning etc too much. Later you will begin to notice others using those chunks and you’ll find your own situations in which you can use them.

4. Use a system to memorize vocabulary. Don’t just write a list of English words next to their Chinese equivalents. Find a hook to link the English and Chinese, or to link the new word to a word you already know. Use a picture, even if it is just in your mind. Remember the new word in a memorable sentence — for example make every word start with the same letter. For example, to learn the new word “bake”: bake sounds like make, and it’s a way to “make” food. Make bread — the b from bread is used instead of the m in make : “bake bread” “Brian bakes brown bread before breakfast”.

memorize

Another example, visa: what you need in your passport to travel to another country. You already know “visa card” so try to link the two words. Visas always cost money, right? “I used my visa card to pay for my visa for Vietnam.” This is very very important, and it’s something that I can’t do for you. You have to find the system that works for you. Do it after class with all the new vocabulary that you learned in class. Developing a good memory is key to learning a language. But you’ll have to train that memory — it probably isn’t good enough yet.

5. Learn mistakes. I’ll always correct your mistakes; so write them down and learn them. If I keep correcting the same mistakes, you are wasting your money.

6. Review review review. It’s impossible to learn things straight off. You need constant review.

review

I can do a little in class, but again, reviewing is something you should do in your own time. Each class you pay for is an investment that can keep paying back to you, again and again. Previewing is also important if you want to get the best value for money from a class. Memorize new vocabulary before the class, and try to use it in the class.

7. Write things for homework and bring to class to be corrected. This is a great way to see clearly what mistakes you are making. Keep a copy of the old, uncorrected version next to the corrected version and learn the mistakes (see 1 and 5). Or take advantage of my essay correcting service.

8. Think of things you want to express in class. Language enables you to express yourself, but if you have nothing you want to express, it makes learning very boring. Prepare topics to talk about. Learn vocabulary (words and phrases) related to that topic. When you are preparing, try to think about the issue in English.

9. Listen to MP3 audio files, such as ICRT’s Eznews — MP3 file and written transcript to read. Don’t worry if you can’t understand everything — just listen. Guess words you don’t understand. After a few times you’ll be able to talk along with it.

10. Develop a nice accent. Mimic native speakers as much as you can. If you want to get a nice accent you’ll have to become a good voice actor (like Eddy Murphy). Record your spoken voice often and listen to it. Why doesn’t it sound natural? Why does it sound like a Chinese speaker trying to speak English?

accent

Don’t be afraid to alter your voice to achieve the right sounds. Listen to the MP3 files from number 9 and record the same words. Then listen to both the original and your recording side by side. Notice the differences. Make changes. Remember that the end of one word always connects and flows into the next word. So practice sentences rather than single words.

11. Back to basics. Never forget the basics. Keep going back to them because you are probably still making basic mistakes.

12. When making sentences, think in “subjects”. What idea are you trying to express? That idea should be the subject of your sentence, both in a grammar sense and in a meaning sense. Each sentence should be one idea.

13. Think in English.

think in English

Don’t double your work by thinking in Chinese and then translating it into English.

14. Print out the above tips and go through them carefully. Look back at them often.


Don’t forget my tutoringessay correcting and other services.

TwitterIcon Follow me on Twitter

FacebookThumb Join the Facebook group

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Study Right

  1. Thanks for giving your ideas. The first thing is that college students have a selection between fed student loan plus a private education loan where it’s easier to choose student loan online debt consolidation than in the federal education loan.

Leave a comment