IELTS Listening: Summary Completion: Cave Paintings

Do these things before listening:

  • Read the summary to get an idea of what the recording is going to be about.
  • Guess the kinds of words that you’ll have to write in the gaps (who, what, where, when, etc).
  • Underline key words near the gaps and think of synonyms for them.

The recording is about cave paintings recently found in Indonesia. It’s from npr and can be found here.

Listen and answer the questions using no more than TWO WORDS or a number from the audio clip.

A cave painting of a (1) ______ recently found by (2) ______ might have been created over (3) ______ years ago, before such paintings began to appear in (4) ______ , where humans were long thought to have originated such art. The (5) ______-coloured paintings, a style of (6) ______ art, show human-like hunters with animal features, meaning the painters could make (7) ______ — a precursor for superstitions and religions.

Transcript, answers and clues below the image.

  1. hunting party
  2. archaeologists
  3. 40,000 / forty thousand
  4. Europe
  5. red
  6. figurative
  7. conceptualisations

44,000-Year-Old Indonesian Cave Painting Is Rewriting The History Of Art

In a cave in Indonesia, archaeologists have uncovered an ancient painting of a hunting party. And as NPR’s Merrit Kennedy reports, it is one of several discoveries in the area that are challenging what we thought we knew about the origins of art.

MERRIT KENNEDY, BYLINE: Until recently, the long-held story was that humans started painting in caves in Europe. But several years ago, a group of scientists started dating cave paintings in Indonesia and found that they are thousands of years older.

ADAM BRUMM: They were at least 40,000 years old, which was a very, very surprising discovery.

KENNEDY: Adam Brumm is an archaeologist at Australia’s Griffith University, and his team analyzed mineral deposits that formed over the works to figure out their age. They include tracings of a human hand and an image of a cow. And since that big reveal, the team has been searching for more art in these caves on the island of Sulawesi. In 2017, they found something breathtaking.

BRUMM: When you look up on the cave wall, you see all of these red paintings.

KENNEDY: Tests showed that this is our species’ oldest known figurative art. It’s a staggering 44,000 years old. And it tells a complicated story. The work stretches across a cave wall for 16 feet and shows hunters surrounding buffaloes and pigs, and the hunters in the story don’t exactly look human.

BRUMM: They appear to be human, but they seem to have some features or characteristics of animals.

KENNEDY: Brumm thinks the part human, part animal figures show not only artistic ability of these ancient people but suggests that they could imagine things that they haven’t actually seen.

BRUMM: Those artists were capable of the sorts of conceptualisations that we need in order to believe in religion, you know, to believe in the existence of the supernatural.

KENNEDY: He says the paintings in Indonesia, which the team described in the journal Nature, have complicated what we know about how figurative art began.

GENEVIEVE VON PETZINGER: The overall theme here, really, is that, yeah, we’ve vastly underestimated the capacity of our ancestors.

KENNEDY: Genevieve von Petzinger is a paleoanthropologist at the University of Victoria in Canada. She suspects that the oldest cave paintings came from a time before our ancestors branched out to Europe and Asia.

VON PETZINGER: Personally, I think that our ancestors already knew how to do art before they left Africa.

KENNEDY: So the story of art’s beginnings may see yet another big revision.

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Listening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment