IELTS Vocabulary: Idioms: A Gender Gap

Learn formal idioms for your Task-2 essay and some informal ones for the Speaking Module. Avoid cliches and other overused phrases.

Click on “V: idioms” over in the tag cloud for more idioms.

Meanwhile, here’s a useful idiom that you can use in your writing and speaking:

Idiom_ A Gender Gap (FB)

It comes from a listening exercise we looked at in another lesson.

Speaking Part 1: Your future

  • What career do you plan to pursue?

I want to become some kind of scientist, but for a girl like me, the gender gap in most scientific fields is quite worrying, and more than a little off-putting…

Speaking Part-2: Water sport you want to try .

As more and more girls like me take up surfing, that old gender gap is starting to shrink…

Speaking Part-3: Teaching

  • Do men make better teachers than women?

Traditionally there has been a huge gender gap in the number of male and female teachers, especially in certain non-scientific subjects; but that…

Writing Task-2: Equal pay

The gender pay gap may or may not be a real phenomenon, but it has certainly been getting a lot of attention recently…

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Vocabulary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to IELTS Vocabulary: Idioms: A Gender Gap

  1. Johnny Chiang says:

    Sometimes gander gaps are perfectly normal and to be expected. There isn’t much we can do about them.

Leave a comment