IELTS Vocabulary: Games

Games: When asking about games, the examiner will be  referring to non-sporting activities.

Card Games
a poker player; bridge is a complicated card game; play for money; play for fun

Board Games
scrabble is a word game; he’s a keen chess player; go is a popular game in Japan;  Chinese chess; Monopoly;

Children’s Games
I used to play hide-and-seek as a kid; tag and chase are still popular games among children;  dodge ball requires 2 teams

Number Games
sudoku; bingo

Computer/Video Games
online games; role-playing games; virtual reality

Chess

Other Games
Mah-jong; dominoes; dice; hangman is a word game for learning English

Playing the Game
enter a competition; compete in a championship; form teams; take a side; compete against each other; a team game; an individual game; two players
win the tournament; win a prize/award/medal; the winner; the loser; the runner-up; in third place
join a club; play professionally; an amatuer player
a judge; an umpire; follow the rules; learn the rules/techniques

You must be able to use the words and phrases in sentences, in context.

So, practice the vocabulary by answering some Part 1 questions:

speak up

IELTS Speaking Part 1 Questions:

  • Do you play a particular game with your friends?
  • What is your favourite game?
  • Which games are popular in your country?

IELTS Speaking Part-2 Questions:

Part 2 questions might ask you to describe a hobby, a family activity or something you do with friends.

 

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Vocabulary. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment