IELTS Listening: Multiple Choice Pick Two: Nobel Prize Winner in Economics

Here is an audio file from the Voice of America learning English website: Nobel Prize Winner Studied How People Spent Their Money

Before you listen, here are some of the words in the story:

  • consumers – n. people who buy and use goods and services
  • distribute – v. to choose how much of something (money) to be used for different purposes
  • analyze – v. to study something closely and carefully; to learn the nature and relationship of the parts of something
  • infer – v. to form an opinion about someone or something based on available evidence
  • household – adj. one or more people who live in the same home
  • surveys – n. studies; collecting information about a population

Nice if you have it.

(If the above player doesn’t work, try listening here. Or if that doesn’t work, please go directly to the VOA website here to listen)

Listen from 00:00 to 00:17

1. and 2. Besides studying how people spend their money, which two things has he also explored?

  • A: how consumption influences the situation we live in.
  • B: how to improve our living conditions.
  • C: how to avoid poverty.
  • D: how our spending habits relate to our lack of wealth.
  • E: how spending can affect both poverty conditions and living.

1 …………

2 …………

Listen from 00:18 to 00:56

3. and 4. Besides dealing with how consumers distribute  their spending among different goods, the Nobel committee says his research has mainly dealt with which two other questions:  

  • A: how spending can help you save.
  • B: spending and saving among the poor
  • C: to what extent people consume and invest
  • D: analysing happiness and poverty
  • E: researching how the poor can become happy

3 ………

4 ………

Listen from 01:42 to 02:25

5. and 6. Mr Deaton paid so much attention to household information because he 

  • A: wants to help people individually.
  • B: wanted to understand why people behave the way they do.
  • C: wanted to find out what things will help people.
  • D: wants to predict what people are going to do.
  • E: wants to infer the reasons for their behaviour.

5 ……….

6 ……….

Listen from 02:44 to 03:47

7. and 8. At a press conference this week, the Nobel Prize winner said which two things:

  • A: he’s happy to be a recognised economist
  • B: he’s happy that others pay attention to his research.
  • C: poverty will decline in the future.
  • D: poverty has been remarkable for the last 20 or 30 years.
  • E: he expects poverty to continue to exist.

7 ………..

8 ………..

Answers below the image

NobelWinner

Professor Angus Deaton: The winner of the 2015 Nobel Prize in Economic Sciences

Answers

  1. A
  2. D
  3. C
  4. D
  5. B
  6. C
  7. B
  8. C

 

 

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Listening and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to IELTS Listening: Multiple Choice Pick Two: Nobel Prize Winner in Economics

  1. PacMan says:

    Oh, I thought it was going to be easy cuz the speech is so slow and clear. But it’s still difficult for me 😦 … what can I do??

  2. Irene Tsu says:

    Me too. It’s a very nice exercise, thanks, but I can’t get all the answers right. I went to the VOA website to read the transcript. That helped a lot

Leave a comment