Idioms

Idioms can be used to show your range in the language in both writing and speaking. The British Council say this:

Generally the wider the range of vocabulary or expression used correctly and appropriately, the better a candidate will score.

There is no list of these items to use. If you feel confident, look into some idiomatic expressions, but not just the usual ones, and be very clear the context in which these should be used

I used to tell students not to worry too much about them too much because there are so so many and they are so difficult to learn how to use properly. You might hear an idiom and recognize its meaning, but when you come to using it in your own speech or writing, you’ll probably run into difficulty.

But if you want a high score, you should definitely learn a few high-frequency idioms that can be used in a variety of situations. The official IELTS band descriptors for the speaking module say this under a band 7:

uses some less common and idiomatic vocabulary

So if you want a Band 7 or higher, you’ll need to use a few idioms and some idiomatic language. Let’s look at an example of an idiom:

HopeInHell

It’s a useful idiom, which can be used in any situation where you had no chance at all.

Learn it in context, as a language chunk. Google “hope in hell” to get some ideas. And then think of all the situations you can use it in.

Examples

I studied hard, but I didn’t have a hope in hell of passing — it was just too difficult.

I love Japan, but there’s not a hope in hell that I’ll ever be able to live there.

I once tried sculpture, but I’m not artistic — I didn’t have a hope in hell of creating even a nice pot.

By using a a few choice idioms, you’ll be making the examiner think that you have a wide range in English vocabulary.

You might only know how to use a few, but at least you’ll know them well and be able to use them with confidence.

Writing:

The rubrics don’t mention anything like “shows a wide range of idioms”, but remember that the band descriptors do mention:

uses less common lexical items with some awareness of style and collocation.

Spice up your essay introductions with an idiom


Don’t forget my tutoring and essay correcting and services.

TwitterIcon Follow me on Twitter

FacebookThumb Join the Facebook group

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Speaking, Vocabulary, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Idioms

  1. Aigerim Kerimbayeva says:

    Hello my name is Aigerim Kerimbayeva I ‘m from Kazakhstan I need your help in preparing for the IELTS a month ago I passed IELTS and it was terrible my score was only 5, Listening 5.5 Reading 5.0 Writing 4.5 Speaking 5.5 I’m going to take the exam on 17th of June and I need to improve my score I need overall 6 I only have 4 weeks to prepare please help me.

Leave a comment