IELTS Speaking Part-3: Question Types

You need to practice all seven question types before your exam. I have discussed most of these in lessons about Speech Functions.

Give an Opinion

Regarding that, I’d have to say that …

As far as I’m concerned …

If I had to give an opinion, I’d say that …

Make a Prediction

In the future it’s highly likely that …

As for what might happen in years to come, it might be that …

More likely than not, one day robots will …

Talk About People

Most people in Taiwan have the idea that …

Generally, the citizens here consider that …

The majority of the general public tend to feel that …

Compare and Contrast

Compared to London, Taipei is a pretty clean city …

Rather than being a quiet person, Cindy is the most talkative person  …

Honestly, those types are incredibly more interesting than others

Compare Past and Present

Whereas in the past people used to wait, nowadays, they have been getting more and more impatient…

Traditionally they would care, but recently things have changed.

Football was popular when I was a kid, but these days it has faded away …

Cause and Effect

The reasons for the change in output include …

The deterioration was a direct result of  … and probably also caused by …

Besides pollution, human behaviour added to the problem …

Hypothetical

If I were an American, I’d arm myself with a handgun.

I wish I could live there, because then, I’d …

Remember that practice makes perfect, so contact me right away.

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Speaking Part 3 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to IELTS Speaking Part-3: Question Types

  1. MrMakayMastor says:

    Very useful summary, Tks

Leave a comment