IELTS Speaking: Speech Functions: Expressing a Preference

In the Speaking Module, you should try to  use various speech functions. One of these is expressing a preference, how to talk about things in relation to other things. You might not need this in Part 1 and 2, but you’ll certainly be asked to compare things in Part 3.

Chess

I’d rather play chess than just about any other game

Prefer

When you are comparing two or more specific things, use these patterns:

  •  … prefer A to B
  • … prefer doing A to (doing) B
  • … prefer to do this than do that

I prefer rice to noodles any day.

I prefer staying at home to going out in the evening.

I prefer to speak face to face than talk online.

When you have just one thing (and you aren’t really comparing it to a specific other thing), use this pattern:

  • … prefer to A

I prefer to send a hand-written letter.

When you are talking about your favourite things:

  • … much prefer A

I love many types of cuisine, but to be honest I much prefer Italian.

Would rather

  • … would rather do A than (do) B

Of all the choices offered, frankly, I’d rather go to Rome than anywhere else.

Never use would rather followed by a verb+ing

I would rather going shopping WRONG

Like something rather/better than something else

I like apples better than bananas

I like to go jogging rather than swimming

Compared to /  comparing 

Compared to London, Paris was a bit dirty

When comparing London and Paris, I’d have to say the latter was dirtier than the former

Rather than

The movie was more of a thriller, rather than an action movie

StyleCollocation

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Speaking, Speaking Part 3 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment