IELTS Speaking Part 3: Structuring Your Answer: The Seasons

We have looked at a Part-2 speech about your favourite season. After realizing how important it is to use a pattern, we learned how to add structure to that speech. But how about Part-3 questions?

Do you think that the weather affects people’s moods?

Sure, I guess it depends on the case person, but for the majority of us are highly affected by weather. For example, most people enjoy sunny days, which enliven us and fill us with optimism, whereas bad weather makes people feel depressed or pessimistic, especially if it inconveniences their lives. On the other hand, bad weather puts some people in a good mood. For example fishermen who are eager for the huge amounts of fish can catch more fish in the raining day on rainy days. or Farmers might also be pleased by a lot of rain, which water from rain can be used to help crops grow in the desert dry areas. It is due to the fact that water rain can water or irrigate the crops.

So, the weather is vital part of people’s daily life seems to affect most of us in one way or another.

And the answer to the above question is: yes, some kind of structure can make your answer more convincing. Look below the image to find out how to do this.

SpringSeason

Use the same linking words, sign-posts and natural speech that we used in the Part-2 speech.

Do you think that the weather affects people’s moods?

Yes, as far as I can see, the weather has two impacts:

First, it must be said that the majority of us normal people are highly affected by weather. What I mean is, most people enjoy sunny days, which enliven us and fill us with optimism, whereas bad weather makes people feel depressed or pessimistic, especially if it inconveniences their lives.

On the other hand, in some professions the weather is crucial. For example fishermen who are eager for the huge amounts of fish can catch more fish on rainy days. or Farmers might also be pleased by a lot of rain, which  can be used to help crops grow in dry areas. It is due to the fact that rain can water or irrigate the crops.

All in all, I’d say that the weather is a vital part of people’s daily life and seems to affect most of us in one way or another.

So organise your ideas and introduce them one at a time with markers, sign-posts and conversational phrases.

It's raining

 

About Paul Davey

I’m Paul from Bristol, England. I am an IELTS tutor available for face-to-face classes in Taipei and Skype classes anywhere in the world. I'm based in Yonghe, New Taipei City — very close to Taipei. I have been teaching for many years and I am good at it. I’m patient and never tire of correcting students’ mistakes. I know many good ways for students to learn quickly and make a lot of progress in a short time. You won’t be wasting your money. I especially know the difficulties faced by Chinese speakers, and I know how to overcome these difficulties. IELTS is my primary concern and over the years I have taught hundreds of students in the UK, Hong Kong, Taiwan, and other spots around the world. I know what the examiners look for and I know how to increase your band and get the grade you need to make your dream come true. I have been blogging about IELTS for about a decade. I started my first website in 2007, before beginning to blog at IELTS Tutor on the Hello UK website. Now I blog only at IELTS in Taiwan and Around the World. I majored in Environmental Sciences at the University of East Anglia, UK, graduating with a bachelor’s degree (2/1 with honours). I obtained my language-teaching qualification in 2006, which is accredited by the Royal College of Teachers. Before I began teaching, I worked in a software company in the UK, writing and selling software solutions. After teaching for many years I took a five-year break to run my own retailing business. Following that adventure, I returned to full-time teaching. For the last 11 years, I’ve been in Taiwan, where in addition to my IELTS work, I have taught corporate classes at Taipei Bank, Pfizer, and Chinese Petroleum Corporation (CPC, Taiwan). I have interests in many fields including travel, literature, science and history.
This entry was posted in Speaking Part 3 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment